Arago: South Sudan

South Sudan

On July 9, 2011 the Republic of South Sudan became an independent state—the 193rd country in the world and the 54th member of the African Union. A transitional constitution took effect the same day and provides for executive, legislative, and judicial branches.

(Source: Background Note: South Sudan, U.S. State Department Web site,, January 25, 2012)