Arago: Cowboys of the Silver Screen Issue

Cowboys of the Silver Screen Issue

On April 17, 2010, in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, the Postal Service issued a 44-cent Cowboys of the Silver Screen commemorative stamp in four designs.

Designed by Carl T. Herrman of North Las Vegas, Nevada, the stamps honor four extraordinary performers who helped make the American Western movie a popular form of entertainment. Film stars from the silent era through the singing era are featured on the stamps: William S. Hart, Tom Mix, Gene Autry, and Roy Rogers.

Ashton Potter produced 40 million stamps using the offset process. The stamps were issued in a pressure-sensitive adhesive pane of twenty and a booklet of twenty stamped postal cards.

Reference: Postal Bulletin (March 11, 2010).

Additional Records