Arago: Distinguished American Diplomats Issue

Distinguished American Diplomats Issue

The US Postal Service issued the 39-cent Distinguished American Diplomats stamps in a pressure-sensitive adhesive (PSA) commemorative sheet of six, on May 30, 2006, in Washington, DC. Howard E. Paine of Delaplane, Virginia, designed the stamps.

Serving our nation's representatives around the world, diplomats promote foreign policy, resolve disputes, and protect American citizens abroad. The accomplished diplomats featured on these stamps are remembered for their contributions to international relations, not only as negotiators and administrators but also as trailblazers, shapers of policy, peacemakers, and humanitarians.

This commemorative souvenir sheet consists of a collage by Fred Otnes of West Redding, Connecticut, featuring details from photographs of six diplomats placed in front of visas, passport pages, and other ephemera associated with diplomacy. The six diplomats whose portraits are featured on the stamps are Hiram Bingham IV (1903-1988), Frances E. Willis (1899-1983), Robert D. Murphy (1894-1978), Clifton R. Wharton, Sr. (1899-1990), Charles E. Bohlen (1904-1974), and Philip C. Habib (1920-1992).

Avery Dennison produced the 18 million stamps on the gravure press.


Postal Bulletin (April 27, 2006).

Additional Records