Arago: Disney Characters

Disney Characters

The US Postal Service honored the art of romance as imagined by Walt Disney and his studio animators with the 39-cent commemorative stamp, The Art of Disney: Romance, issued April 21, 2006 in Orlando, Florida.

With help from some of Walt Disney's famous animated characters, Postal Service art director Terrence McCaffrey joined with a Disney team, including artist Peter Emmerich and creative director David Pacheco, to create four stamps that feature the following characters: Cinderella and Prince Charming, Beauty and the Beast, Lady and Tramp, Mickey and Minnie Mouse.

This is the third stamp pane honoring the art of Disney issued by the Postal Service. The first, issued in 2004, was on the theme of friendship. The second, issued in 2005, focused on celebrations.

The Art of Disney: Romance stamps were issued in four designs, in a pressure-sensitive adhesive (PSA) pane of twenty stamps. 175 million stamps were printed in the offset process.


Postal Bulletin (March 16, 2006).

Additional Records