Arago: Distinguished Marines Issue

Distinguished Marines Issue

The Postal Service issued the 37-cent Distinguished Marines commemorative stamps in four designs on November 10, 2005, in Washington, DC, and Oceanside, California. Phil Jordan of Falls Church, Virginia designed the stamps.

These stamps commemorate four legendary marines who served with bravery and distinction during the twentieth century: John Basilone, Daniel J. Daly, John A. Lejeune, and Lewis B. Puller. This issuance honors a tradition of excellence in military service that began with the establishment of the first two battalions of marines by the Continental Congress in 1775.

Ashton-Potter (USA), Ltd., printed 60 million stamps in pressure-sensitive adhesive (PSA) panes of twenty in the offset process.


Postal Bulletin (September 29, 2005)

Additional Records