Arago: Jim Henson & The Muppets Issue

Jim Henson & The Muppets Issue

The Postal Service issued the 37-cent Jim Henson, the man behind the Muppets, commemorative stamps on September 28, 2005, in North Hollywood, California. Edward Eyth of Carmel, California designed the stamps.

These stamps commemorate director, producer, writer, and puppeteer Jim Henson (1936-1990), creator of the Muppets. This pane features eleven stamps. One stamp features a photograph of Jim Henson taken by Norman Seeff in New York City in 1986. Ten additional stamps depict thirteen Muppet characters most famous for their roles in "The Muppet Show" and the various Muppet movies. They are Kermit the Frog, Sam the Eagle, Statler and Waldorf, Animal, Rowlf the Dog, Fozzie Bear, Miss Piggy, Swedish Chef, Dr. Bunsen Honeydew and his assistant, Beaker, Great Gonzo, and Camilla the Chicken.

The selvage features a photograph of Jim Henson silhouetted in a window with Kermit the Frog.

Avery Dennison printed 231 million gravure stamps in pressure-sensitive adhesive (PSA) panes of eleven (eleven designs).


Postal Bulletin (September 1, 2005)

Additional Records
  • Overview
  • 37c Animal single
  • 37c Jim Henson and The Muppets pane of eleven
  • 37c Kermit the Frog single
  • 37c Fozzie Bear single
  • 37c Sam the Eagle single
  • 37c Miss Piggy single
  • 37c Statler and Waldorf single
  • 37c The Swedish Chef single
  • 37c Dr. Bunsen Honeydew and Beaker single
  • 37c Rowlf the Dog single
  • 37c The Great Gonzo and Camilla the Chicken single

1 2