Arago: Early Football Heroes

Early Football Heroes

The Postal Service issued 37-cent Early Football Heroes commemorative stamps in a pressure-sensitive adhesive pane of twenty stamps on August 8, 2003, in South Bend, Indiana. The stamps, designed by Richard Sheaff, Scottsdale, Arizona, went on sale nationwide August 9, 2003.

These stamps commemorate four great figures from the early days of football: Walter Camp, Ernie Nevers, Red Grange, and Bronko Nagurski. All four players are enshrined in the College Football Hall of Fame. The photographs that appear on these stamps have been colorized for the stamp art.

Avery Dennison (AVR) printed 70 million of these stamps in the gravure process with Scrambled Indicia.


Postal Bulletin (July 10, 2003).

Additional Records