Arago: American Civil War Issue

American Civil War Issue

The Postal Service issued a 20 stamp sheet of 32-cent Civil War stamps on June 29, 1995 in Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. Designed by Mark Hess of Katonah, New York, the stamps are the second installment of the Classic Collection.

Featured in the issue are: the USS Monitor and CSS Virginia, Robert E. Lee, Clara Barton, Ulysses S. Grant, the Battle of Shiloh, Jefferson Davis, David Farragut, Frederick Douglass, Raphael Semmes, Abraham Lincoln, Harriet Tubman, Stand Watie, Joseph E. Johnston, Winfield Hancock, Mary Chesnut, the Battle of Chancellorsville, William T. Sherman, Phoebe Pember, "Stonewall" Jackson, and the Battle of Gettysburg. An explanatory text is on the back of each stamp. Stamp Venturers, Inc. printed the stamps in the gravure process.

Reference: Postal Bulletin (June 8, 1995)

Additional Records
  • Overview
  • 32c Abraham Lincoln single
  • 32c Civil War pane of twenty
  • 32c Monitor and Virginia single
  • 32c Robert E. Lee single
  • 32c Clara Barton single
  • 32c Ulysses S. Grant single
  • 32c Battle of Shiloh single
  • 32c Jefferson Davis single
  • 32c David Farragut single
  • 32c Frederick Douglass single
  • 32c Raphael Semmes single

1 2