Arago: American Music Series: Hollywood Composers

American Music Series: Hollywood Composers

Six 33-cent Hollywood Composers commemorative stamps were issued in Los Angeles, California, on September 16, 1999. The stamps were designed by Howard Paine of Delaplane, Virginia, and illustrated by Drew Struzan of Pasadena, California.

For much of the twentieth century, Hollywood composers have added immeasurably to our enjoyment at the movies, using the power of music to help bring films to life. Six talented and award-winning composers have been chosen to represent this musical genre and its vital role in American cinema.

The stamp, issued as part of The Legends of American Music Series, honors composers Max Steiner, Dimitri Tiomkin, Alfred Newman, Bernard Herrmann, Franz Waxman, and Erich Wolfgang Korngold. These Academy Award-winning composers wrote some of the best-loved scores in Hollywood films from the 1930s through the 1960s.

42.5 million stamps were printed by Sterling Sommer in the offset process.


Postal Bulletin (August 12, 1999).

Additional Records