Arago: Seychelles


The Seychelles are a group of ninety-two islands located about 1000 miles northeast of Mauritius and the same distance east of Kenya. Administered by Mauritius, stamps of Mauritius used in the Seychelles can be distinguished by a "B64" postmark. In 1890 the islands issued their own postage stamps. Until 1938 these were simply the image of the British sovereign in a circle, a standard British colonial 'tablet' design.

The Seychelles became a separate British colony in 1903 and an independent country in 1976.


Additional Records