Arago: 1981 American Architecture Series Issue

1981 American Architecture Series Issue

A block of four 18-cent commemorative stamps featuring significant examples of American architecture was issued in Washington, DC, on August 28, 1981. The stamps show the New York University Library, designed by Stanford White; the Biltmore House in Asheville, North Carolina, designed by Richard Morris Hunt; the Palace of Fine Arts in San Francisco, California, designed by Bernard Maybeck, and the bank building in Owatonna, Minnesota, designed by Louis Sullivan.

The stamps were the third issue in the American Architecture Series, begun in 1979. Stamps in this series featured examples of outstanding American architecture and the architects who designed the structures. The buildings featured represent architecture of enduring beauty, strength, and usefulness.

Designed by Walter D. Richards of New Canaan, Connecticut, and modeled by Frank J. Waslick , the stamps were printed in the intaglio process and issued in panes of forty.


Postal Bulletin (July 30, 1981).

Additional Records