Arago: International Youth Year Issue

International Youth Year Issue

This block of four 22-Cent commemorative stamps honoring youth groups was issued on October 7, 1985, in Chicago, Illinois. The stamps were issued in conjunction with the United Nations' celebration of 1985 as "International Youth Year."

Assistant Postmaster General Andrew S. Walker dedicated the stamps at Chicago's Hotel Continental. Earlier that year, Postmaster General Paul N. Carlin had unveiled the design of the Boy Scouts stamp during the Boy Scout World Jamboree held at Fort A.P. Hill in Bowling Green, Virginia.

Depicted on the block of four stamps were the Boy Scouts, Big Brothers/Big Sisters, Young Men's Christian Association (YMCA), Youth Camping and Camp Fire. Each stamp featured an outdoor scene and representative individuals from each particular youth group.

Each of the youth groups represented by the block of four stamps provided young men and women with unique opportunities to participate in a wide variety of character-developing programs.

Dennis Luzak of Redding Ridge, Connecticut designed the stamps. Art director was Jack Williams, Postal Service Program, manager for philatelic design; modeler was Richard C. Sennett, American Bank Note Company; typographer was Bradbury Thompson of Riverside, Connecticut. The gravure process was used. The stamps were issued in panes of fifty.


Postal Bulletin (September 5, 1985).

Additional Records