Arago: American Architecture Series

American Architecture Series

A block of four 20-cent commemorative stamps featuring significant example of American architecture was issued September 30, 1982 in Washington, DC. The First Day of Issue ceremony was held at the headquarters of the American Institute of Architects.

The stamp block of four designs includes "Fallingwater," Mill Run, Pennsylvania, designed by Frank Lloyd Wright (1867 -1959); the Illinois Institute of Technology, Chicago, designed by Ludwig Mies van der Rohe (1886 -1969); "Gropius House," Lincoln, Massachusetts, designed by Walter Gropius (1883 - 1969); and Dulles International Airport, Washington, DC, designed by Eero Saarinen (1910 - 1961).

The stamps marked the fourth and final issue in the American Architecture Series, which was initiated in 1979. Stamps in this series represent architecture of enduring beauty, strength, and usefulness and are intended to honor the architects who designed them and other members of the architectural profession.

Designed by Walter Richards of New Canaan, Connecticut, the stamps were engraved through the intaglio process and issued in a pane of forty.


Postal Bulletin (August 19, 1982).

Additional Records