Arago: Distinguished Soldiers Issue

Distinguished Soldiers Issue

The Postal Service issued four 33-cent Distinguished Soldiers commemorative stamps in Washington, DC, on May 3, 2000. These stamps were sold nationwide the same day.

Designed by Phil Jordan of Falls Church, Virginia, the stamps feature black-and-white photographs of soldiers Alvin C. York, John L. Hines, Audie L. Murphy, and Omar N. Bradley. These men are commemorated by the Postal Service for their heroism and leadership in World War I and World War II.

Alvin C. York was awarded the Medal of Honor for his single-handed capture of German soldiers during World War I.

General John L. Hines was awarded the Distinguished Service Cross and the Distinguished Service Medal for his bravery and leadership in combat in World War I; he went on to become Army Chief of Staff.

Audie L. Murphy received the Medal of Honor for saving the troops in his company and single-handedly breaking up a German attack toward the end of World War II.

General Omar N. Bradley commanded the First Army during the 1944 Allied landing in Normandy, later serving as Army Chief of Staff and as the first chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff.

Sterling Sommer produced 55 million stamps in the offset process.


Postal Bulletin (April 6, 2000).

Additional Records