Arago: 22-cent Delaware

22-cent Delaware

When the Constitutional Convention convened at Philadelphia in 1787, the tiny state of Delaware was concerned about possible domination by the larger states. Accordingly, delegates Richard Bassett, Gunning Bedford Jr., Jacob Broom, John Dickinson, and George Read committed themselves to the principle 'one state, one vote'. When major disputes arose, the Delaware delegates helped save the Convention by accepting the compromise of one legislative body whose membership was based on population and another whose membership was based on equal representation.

The Delaware delegates then pressed for a strong national government, supporting the Federalist policies of George Washington, Alexander Hamilton, and John Adams. That loyalty and desire to make the new system work was evident when Delaware became the first state to ratify the new Constitution.

The U.S. Postal Service issued a stamp in 1987 to commemorate Delaware's statehood and to commemorate the bicentennial of that ratification. The stamp was designed by Richard Sheaff of Needham, Massachusetts.


Additional Records