Arago: Independent State Usage

Independent State Usage

Although the first Confederate stamp was issued on October 16, 1861, the era of Confederate collecting began almost a year before when, on December 20, 1860, South Carolina became the first of 13 Southern states to secede from the Union. Covers bearing clear dates of usage between the day a state seceded and the date of its admission to the Confederacy are termed Independent State Usage.


Additional Records