Arago: Republic of China Issue

Republic of China Issue

This 4-cent stamp was issued through the Washington, DC, post office on October 10, 1961, recognizing the fiftieth anniversary of the founding of the Republic of China and portraying Dr. Sun Yat-Sen. Sun led the people of China to overthrow the Qing Dynasty and pioneered the Three People's Principles of "nationalism, democracy, and equalization."

The stamp's design features a portrait of Dr. Sun Yat-Sen from a colored lithograph. Above the portrait is the twelve-pointed White Sun symbol, adapted from the flag of the Republic of China. The Chinese characters "Min Kuo," in the upper left, and "Chung Hua," in the upper right, represent in English "The Republic of China."

The stamp was printed by the rotary process, electric-eye perforated, and issued in panes of fifty stamps each. An initial printing of 100 million stamps was authorized.


Postal Bulletin (September 21, 1961).


Additional Records