Arago: 100th Anniversary Wyoming Statehood Issue

100th Anniversary Wyoming Statehood Issue

The majestic Grand Teton mountains, rising up from a wild flower-swept meadow, grace the commemorative stamp that celebrates the centennial of Wyoming's statehood. The stamp reproduces Conrad Schwiering's painting 'High Mountain Meadows'. The painting, a gift to the Nicolaysen Art Museum in Casper, Wyoming, was displayed in the State Capitol building throughout the centennial year. Associate Postmaster General Kenneth J. Hunter spoke at the First Day of Issue dedication ceremony, held in Cheyenne on February 23, 1990.

Wyoming was admitted to the Union on July 10, 1890, as the nation's forty-fourth state. It had made history as a territory by granting women's suffrage in 1869, for which it is called the 'Equality State'. National parks and national forests— including Yellowstone Park, the nation's first national park, and the nation's first national monument, Devil's Tower—comprise nearly one-quarter of its land.

Additional Records