Arago: 9-cent Jefferson

9-cent Jefferson

Thomas Jefferson (1743-1826) of Virginia, author of the Declaration of Independence and third president of the United States (1801-1809), appeared on the 9-cent stamp, issued in 1923. Jefferson first appeared on a U.S. postage stamp in 1856. Clair Aubrey Huston designed the new Jefferson stamp. For his vignette, Huston used George F.C. Simille’s engraving of Jefferson that appeared on the 2-cent value of the 1904 Louisiana Purchase Exposition Series. Simille used as a model for his engraving a portrait of Jefferson painted by Gilbert Stuart in 1805. Simille’s engraving was transferred to a new die and restored by John Eissler and Leo Kauffmann for use on the 1923 stamp. The stamp’s frame was engraved by Edward M. Hall and Joachim C. Benzing.

Initially printed on the flat plate press, the stamp was subsequently printed on the Stickney rotary press.

Additional Records