Arago: 19-cent Hayes

19-cent Hayes

The likeness of Rutherford B. Hayes (1822-1893), the nineteenth president of the United States, appears on the 19-cent denomination of the 1938 Presidential Series. Hayes's image was derived from a medal struck by the U.S. Mint.

Hayes, a lawyer, served as a three-term governor of Ohio and as a member of the U.S. Congress. He served as president from 1877-1881. He chose to serve only one term.

This 19-cent violet stamp was printed only in sheet form and was released to the public on November 10, 1938, along with the 20-cent Prexie denomination.

While this 19-cent stamp can be found paying for rates and postal fees in combination with other stamps, there was no single rate applicable to the 19-cent stamp when issued. Complex combination rates were possible, but any solo usage of this stamp is very hard to find. Examples includes three times the three-cents- per-ounce domestic letter rate plus the ten-cent special delivery fee (in effect July 1, 1928, through October 31, 1944), or two times the three-cent domestic letter fee plus thirteen cents for special delivery (in effect November 1, 1944, through December 31, 1948).

Additional Records