Arago: 6-cent Roosevelt

6-cent Roosevelt

Theodore Roosevelt (1858-1919), the twenty-sixth president of the United States, is honored on the 6-cent Liberty stamp. The stamp was designed by Victor S. McCloskey, Jr., and Charles R. Chickering of the Bureau of Engraving and Printing. It was issued on November 18, 1955, at New York City, the place of Roosevelt’s birth. The likeness of Roosevelt was reproduced from a photograph of a Philip A. De Laszlo painting.

Roosevelt was president from September 14, 1901, through March 3, 1909. Also known as 'T.R.' or 'Teddy', he was the youngest president in U.S. history to that point. He was forty-two years old when inaugurated. He was a widely respected historian, naturalist, and explorer of the Amazon Basin. He wrote thirty-five books, including works on outdoor life, natural history, U.S. western and political history.

The 6-cent stamp was very versatile when issued, as it met both the two ounce first-class letter rate and the one ounce domestic airmail rate.


Additional Records