Arago: Flag of Luxembourg

Flag of Luxembourg

Issued on August 10, 1943, the red, white, and blue flag of Luxembourg is featured on the fourth stamp in the Overrun Countries Series. This tiny country was occupied very swiftly in May of 1940. Grand Duchess Charlotte and her ministers fled and established a government in exile for the duration of the war. In 1942 Luxembourg was incorporated into Nazi Germany and many citizens were forced to serve in the German armed forces.


Additional Records